Swimming Tutorial



Swimming is an act of using the body for moving in the water without drowning. The remains of existence of swimming was found in the cave painting in the Stone Age and the history of painting exist till the Stone Age period. Swimming became a competitive spot when artificial swimming pools starts constructing in the 19th century. St George’s Baths build in England were the first of its kind and since then the swimming started to become competitive sport in England in 1830s.

Swimming as a competitive spot was aiming to beat your opponent to finish reaching the end point. Swimming is both individual as well as a team spot event. It is one of the popular and important even on various sporting events including Olympic Games.


FINA or Fédération internationale de natation is an organisation recognized by the International Olympic Committee to control all the aquatic sporting events internationally. This is one among few such organisations that is provided with the authority to handle the spot by the International Olympic committee. This organisation is based in Lausanne, Switzerland. They also have the authority to formulate the rules that relate to swimming as a sporting event.

FINA is a group of 208 countries from across the globe. The Discipline championships they handle are :

  1. Swimming: World Swimming Championships (25m).
  2. Swum in 25-meter length pool (Olympic and World Championships are in a 50m pool).
  3. Masters: World Masters Championships.
  4. Synchronized Swimming: Synchro World Cup.
  5. Open Water: World Open Water Swimming Championships.
  6. Diving: Diving World Series.
  7. Water Polo: Water Polo World Leagues (men’s and women’s).

Participating Countries

As mentioned earlier there are 208 countries that are under FINA which reflects their interest in the event swimming. The regions involved in FINA and the associations handling are:

  1. Africa (52 countries): African Swimming Confederation (CANA)
  2. Americas (44 countries): Swimming Union of the Americas (ASUA)
  3. Asia (44 countries): Asian Swimming Federation (AASF)
  4. Europe (52 countries): European Swimming League (LEN)
  5. Oceania (15 countries): Oceania Swimming Association (OSA)

Playing Environment

For the game environment there are many rules and regulations which is decided and controlled by FINA. The important rules involve the depth of the pool which should be minimum of two meters and the length of the pool can be 25 to 50 meters depending on the requirement and total length of the race.

The Pool for the event is divided into lanes that are labelled from zero and each of these lanes will be having 2.5 meters width. World championship events will be having 10 lanes and other small events will be having 8 lanes. Usually they will be having starting blocks at both the ends. As per the rules of FINA there should be Automatic Officiating Equipment with touch pads for the race in order to record the time.

As time passes there had been many changes for the swimming competitions and this made changes to the surface of the block, raised the block on both the ends etc.